Ask a Question

Review Philippine History

Welcome Guest. Sign in or Signup

2 Answers

How many volcanoes do the Philippines has?

Asked by: 11004 views , ,
Cities/Province, General Information

Where to see the  How many volcanoes do the Philippines has? Where is the location?

2 Answers

  1. dennistumz on Nov 09, 2011 Reply

    The Philippine Institute of Volcanology and Seismology (PHIVOLCS) currently lists 355 volcanoes in the Philippines as inactive..Moreover the PHIVOLCS site currently lists 23 volcanoes as active in the Philippines..I knew one volcanoes and that is Mount Apo here in Davao City ..It is the highest mountain in the country ..I’ve been to its lake,the Lake Agco..Its amazing to see this kind of wonder that water from it really boils as its hot..but that trip was nice that I even took a bath on its hot spring which was very relaxing…Volcanoes are not just dangerous at all..they also have good side such as providing us energy that we uses everyday in our life…

    +7 Votes Thumb up 13 Votes Thumb down 6 Votes

  2. Tina A on Nov 09, 2011 Reply

    There are approximately 377 volcanoes in the Philippines, 22 of which are active volcanoes and 355 inactive volcanoes. Active volcanoes are those that erupted within historical times (within the last 600 years) while Inactive volcanoes are those with no record of eruptions. The Philippine Islands lies on the Pacific Ring of Fire along with other nine countries. Philippines have 4 records in the deadliest volcanic eruptions in the word which are the Mount Taal, Mount Mayon, Mount Pinatubo and Mount Hibok-Hibok. All of these had more than 500 known human fatalities. The said four volcanoes are still considered active volcanoes by Philippine Institute for Volcanology and Seismology. At present, Mount Pinatubo is not included in the top ten most active volcanoes in the Philippines as it has not erupted for more than 600 years before it erupted last April 2, 1991. Mount Mayon has a total of 48 historical eruptions, Mount Taal with 33 historical eruptions, Mount Hibok-Hibok has five and Mount Pinatubo with three historical eruptions.

    +7 Votes Thumb up 9 Votes Thumb down 2 Votes

Answer Question